Every Child a Graduate. Every Graduate Prepared.

ALSDE: Standards/Courses of Study & Textbooks



The Curriculum Section is responsible for the development of the minimum curriculum content (standards) and course design for K-12 students in the public schools. It is responsible for instructional support that includes courses of study, curriculum alignment materials, and the textbook adoption program.

CURRICULUM DIRECTOR
Mrs. Cynthia C. Brown, cbrown@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8059


Courses of Study (COS)
Contact - Dr. Susan B. Davis, sdavis@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8059

Current Courses of Study


State Courses of Study Development Schedule
Year of Development Subject(s) LEA Implementation(Fall)
2010 English Language Arts 2013
2009-10 Social Studies 2014
2012-13 Science
Driver and Traffic Safety Education
2015
2014-15 Arts Education (Dance, Theatre, Music, and Visual Arts),
Languages Other Than English – Foreign Languages
2016
2015-16 Career and Technical Education,
Technology Education
2017
2016-17 Mathematics
Health Education
Physical Education
2018
2017-18 English Language Arts 2019


Textbook Adoption Process
Contact - Mrs. Sara Wright, swright@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8059

The state textbook office administers the state textbook law, which provides for the review and adoption of textbooks at the state and local level. The law also provides regulations for individual school systems regarding the local adoption, purchase, use, and inventory of textbooks. Primary to the state process is working with the state textbook committee during the review of textbooks and presenting recommendations to the State Board of Education for adoption or rejection. The state textbook office also provides assistance to local school systems in complying with the provisions of the textbook law. For information about the Alabama State Textbook program such as state-adopted lists, rejected textbooks, local adoption forms, adoption schedules, new adoptions, publisher lists, local textbook supervisors, and other information, contact Sara Wright at textbooks@alsde.edu or swright@alsde.edu.



Textbook Adoption Schedule
State Year of Adoption Subject(s) Local Year of Adoption
2012 English Language Arts 2013
2013 Social Studies 2014
2014 Science
Driver and Traffic Safety
2015
2015 Arts Education (Dance, Theatre, Music, and Visual Arts),
Languages Other Than English – Foreign Languages
2016
2016 Career and Technical Education,
Technology Education
2017
2017 Mathematics
Health Education
Physical Education
2018
2018 English Language Arts 2019


Other Curriculum Section Contacts (334) 242-8059
Arts Education
Mrs. Sara Wright
Education Administrator swright@alsde.edu
 
English Language Arts
Mr. Steve McAliley
Education Specialist stevemc@alsde.edu
 
Languages Other Than English, Summer School
Mrs. Phyllis Rase
Education Specialist prase@alsde.edu
 
Mathematics
Dr. Susan B. Davis
Education Administrator sdavis@alsde.edu
 
Physical Education, Health Education
Mrs. Nancy Ray
Education Specialist nray@alsde.edu
 
Science
Dr. Michal Robinson
Education Specialist mrobinson@alsde.edu
 
Social Studies
Mr. Martin Dukes
Education Specialist mdukes@alsde.edu
 
Administrative Assistants
Ms. Natasha Sims
Ms. Monique Duncan

nsims@alsde.edu
mduncan@alsde.edu