Every Child a Graduate. Every Graduate Prepared.
Skip Navigation Links > Executive > Board of Ed > Adopted Resolutions

State Board of Education - Adopted Resolutions

To view the resolutions adopted by the State Board of Education, click on a year listed below or use the search tool to find specific resolutions.

| 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996 | 1995 |

Search Adopted Resolutions:


WHEREAS, the teachers in Alabama’s public schools continue to strive for educational excellence for their students; and
WHEREAS, Alabama’s nominees for the Presidential Award for Excellence have given many years of dedicated service to education and have worked diligently to improve science and mathematics education in their school systems as well as in the state of Alabama; and
WHEREAS, these outstanding teachers have helped countless elementary and secondary students in their quest for knowledge, and through their dedication and enthusiasm have served as an inspiration to these students and others in the teaching profession:
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Alabama State Board of Education does hereby express its appreciation and congratulations to the following teachers for their service to elementary and secondary science and mathematics education and for their recognition as Alabama’s 1996 nominees for Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching:

Elementary Science

Nancy Vann Rastovski, Vestavia Hills Elementary School, Vestavia Hills City Schools Barbara Jean Harris, Brownwood Elementary School, Scottsboro City Schools Kay Emfinger, Trace Crossings Elementary School, Hoover City Schools

Secondary Science

Theresa R. Corley, Mountain Brook High School, Mountain Brook City Schools Wilma N. Guthrie, Hewitt-Trussville Junior High School, Jefferson County Schools Robert S. Ricks, Childersburg Middle School, Talladega County Schools

Elementary Mathematics

Tami Puchta, Trace Crossings Elementary School, Hoover City Schools Philip T. Westbrook, T. R. Simmons Elementary School, Jasper City Schools Margaret H. Greer, Walter Jackson Elementary School, Decatur City Schools

Secondary Mathematics

Nancy Chilton, Pizitz Middle School, Vestavia Hills City Schools Sharon A. Padgett, Pleasant Valley High School, Calhoun County Schools Evelyn G. Harris, Smith Station High School, Lee County Schools