Every Child a Graduate. Every Graduate Prepared.
Skip Navigation Links > Executive > Board of Ed > Adopted Resolutions

State Board of Education - Adopted Resolutions

To view the resolutions adopted by the State Board of Education, click on a year listed below or use the search tool to find specific resolutions.

| 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996 | 1995 |

Search Adopted Resolutions:


WHEREAS, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, created in 1969, has honored more than 6,000 of the nation's top-performing students; and

WHEREAS, the prestigious program was expanded in 1979 to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, literary and performing arts; and

WHEREAS, the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars, appointed by President Barack Obama, selects honored scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals; and

WHEREAS, of the three million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 3,300 candidates qualified for the 2013 awards were determined by outstanding performance on the College Board SAT and ACT exams, and through nominations made by Chief State School Officers or the National YoungArts Foundation's nationwide YoungArts competition; and

WHEREAS, the 49th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars recognizes 141 high school seniors for their accomplishments in academics or the arts and is comprised of one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, from U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large and 20 U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts; and

WHEREAS, Bob Jones High School senior David M. Hergenroeder of Madison has been selected as a 2013 U.S. Presidential Scholar, demonstrating the accomplishments that can be made when students challenge themselves, set the highest standards, and commit themselves to excellence; and

WHEREAS, David M. Hergenroeder will be honored along with his fellow scholars in Washington, D.C., on June 16, 2013, during National Recognition Weekend and receive a Presidential Scholar Medallion; and

WHEREAS, scholars are asked to identify an influential teacher who is invited to accompany them to National Recognition Weekend and David M. Hergenroeder has selected Teresa Tarter:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Alabama State Board of Education hereby congratulates David M. Hergenroeder on his selection as a 2013 U.S. Presidential Scholar.

Done this 13th day of June 2013