Every Child a Graduate. Every Graduate Prepared.
Skip Navigation Links > Executive > Director Listing

Education Department Directors

Dr. Tommy Bice,
State Superintendent

State Superintendent's Office
Dr. Tommy Bice

Phone: (334) 242-9700


Communication
Dr. Michael O. Sibley - Director

msibley@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9950


General Counsel
Larry E. Craven, J.D. - General Counsel

lcraven@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-1899


Executive Assistant
Leigh Ann Kyser - Executive Assistant

lakyser@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9704


Office Services
Beverly Davis - Office Services

bevdavis@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 353-1815


State Board of Education, Executive Secretary
Ann Starks - Executive Secretary

astarks@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9702


Office of Carer and Technical Education / Workforce Development
Dr. Philip Cleveland - Director

pcleveland@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9960


Dr. Warren Craig Pouncey,
Chief of Staff
Policy and Budget


Chief of Staff's Office
Dr. Craig Pouncey

cpouncey@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9755


Office of Human Resources
Belinda Cooley, Interim

bcooley@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9900


Personnel Training
Belinda Cooley

bcooley@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8822


Legislative Liaison
Tracey Meyer - Legislative Liaison

tmeyer@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 353-1600


Office of Financial Management
Vera Guettler

verag@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9774


SDE Accounting
Vera Guettler - Chief Fiscal Officer

verag@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9774


LEA Accounting
Barry Kachelhofer - Coordinator

barryk@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9914


LEA Funds Management
Vera Guettler - Chief Fiscal Officer

verag@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9774


LEA Financial Support
Vera Guettler - Chief Fiscal Officer

verag@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9774


Payroll
Vera Guettler - Chief Fiscal Officer

verag@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9774


Operations
Jacky P. Todd - Administrator - General Services

jtodd@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9760


Office of Supporting Programs
Dennis Coe

dcoe@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9756


School Architect
E. Perry Taylor - Director

ptaylor@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9731


Pupil Transportation
Joe Lightsey - Director

joel@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9730


CNP - Child Nutrition Programs
June Barrett - Program Coordinator

jbarrett@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-1988


LEA Fiscal Accountability
Dennis Heard

dheard@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9747


Compliance Monitoring / State-Supported Schools
Paul Gay - Program Coordinator

pgay@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9728


Licensure Review
Dennis Coe

dcoe@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9756


Policy/Admin. Code
Dennis Heard

dheard@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9747


Superintendents' Academy
Julie Lowery

juliel@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9755


Office of Disability Determination
Norman Ippolito

Phone: (205) 989-2100


Mobile Office
Norman Ippolito



Sherrill Parris,
Deputy Superintendent
Teaching/Learning


Deputy Superintendent's Office
Sherrill Parris

sparris@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8154


Inservice Centers
Sherrill Parris

sparris@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8154


Office of Student Learning
Dr. Julie Hannah



Standards / Courses of Study and Textbooks
Cynthia C. Brown - Director

cbrown@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8059


Instructional Services
Robin Nelson - Program Coordinator

rnelson@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 353-1191


Alabama Reading Initiative
Judy S. Stone - Program Coordinator

arisde@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 353-1389


Alabama Math, Science and Technology Initiative (AMSTI)
Steve Ricks - Director

sricks@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 353-9151


Assessment
Dr. Julie Hannah - Director

gturner@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8038


Office of Learning Support
Dr. Linda Felton-Smith - Director

lfelton-smith@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 353-1763


Federal Programs
Edmond Moore - Program Coordinator

emoore@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8199


Special Education Services
Crystal Richardson - Program Coordinator

crystalr@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8114


Prevention and Support Services
Marilyn Lewis - Program Coordinator

mlewis@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8165


Technology Initiatives
Earlene Patton - Program Coordinator

epatton@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9594


Office of Teaching & Leading
Dr. Jayne A. Meyer - Director

jmeyer@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9560


Teacher Education
Dr. Anna T. Kozlowski

akozlowski@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9935


Teacher Certification
Sarah Justiss - Program Coordinator

tcert@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 353-8567


Teacher Testing
Dr. Cory Murphy

cmurphy@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9939


Teacher Placement
Debra Williams

dwilliams@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9935


EDUCATE/LEADAlabama
Dr. Jayne Meyer - Director

jmeyer@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9560


National Board Certification
Debra Williams

dwilliams@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9936


Dr. Melinda Maddox,
Assistant Superintendent
Research, Information, & Data Services


Assistant Superintendent's Office
Dr. Melinda Maddox

mmaddox@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9716


Education Information
Jerome Browning - Program Coordinator

jbrowning@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 353-4285


Accountability
Shanthia Washington - Program Coordinator

swashington@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 353-4285


Data and Development
Dominique 'Dom' Martel - Program Coordinator

dmartel@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 353-7018


Networking and Operations
Scott Crews - Program Coordinator

screws@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 353-7018


Research & Development
Dr. Tony Thacker - Program Coordinator

tthacker@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-9742