Every Child a Graduate. Every Graduate Prepared.
Skip Navigation Links > Executive > Board of Ed > Adopted Resolutions

State Board of Education - Adopted Resolutions

To view the resolutions adopted by the State Board of Education, click on a year listed below or use the search tool to find specific resolutions.

| 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996 | 1995 |

Search Adopted Resolutions:


WHEREAS, the Alabama State Board of Education and the Alabama State Department of Education recognize mathematics as a vital part of a student’s education; and
WHEREAS, for the ninth time in 10 years the Vestavia Hills High School Mathematics Team has placed first in competition at the annual Mu Alpha Theta National High School Mathematics Convention, which is sponsored by Mu Alpha Theta and the Mathematical Association of America; and
WHEREAS, the team members are:
Katie Campbell, Jonathan Berkow, Salih Sabri, Vinay Madan, John Hart, Catherine Fan, Will Fisher, Scott Burritt, Elizabeth Wright, Adam Neighbors, Sohail Khan, Carlos Galliani, Betsy James, Ben Cortopassi, David Phillips, Thomas Lin, Jason Kelly, Meryl Cantley, Paco Robert, Bradley Metrock, Nico Lin, Peter Croft, Scott Wehrenberg, Charity Morgan, Pei-Hsin Lin, Steven Denny Juniors 1998-99: Steve Aufdenkampe, Steven McDaniel, Julian Carlo, Judith Morgan, Shelly Chattopadhyay, Austin Renfroe, Isaac Dooley, Kellie Stokes, Niteesh Bharara, Wen Tian, Kavan Elderidge, Stephanie Weikard, Timothy Hsu, Ling Xu, Leslie McCall
WHEREAS, for the last several years the team has been among the top performers in other state, regional, and national mathematics competitions; and
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the State Board of Education does hereby congratulate and commend the members of the Vestavia Hills High School Mathematics Team for their hard work and for continuing to set a standard for excellence in academics, particularly mathematics; and
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the board also commends the parents and teachers of these students; Ms. Kay Tipton and Ms. Dianne Peer, math team sponsors; Mr. Michael S. Gross, principal, Vestavia Hills High School; Dr. Harrison Cass, superintendent, Vestavia Hills City Schools; and members of the Vestavia Hills City Board of Education for their support of this outstanding group of champions.