Every Child a Graduate. Every Graduate Prepared.

ALSDE: Prevention & Support Services



Section Hot Topics:  Attorney General's Opinions

Dr. Marilyn Lewis, Coordinator

ALABAMA'S SAFE SCHOOLS HOTLINE 1-888-728-5437 (School Violence Only)

The Prevention and Support Services Section has the responsibility of providing technical assistance to school and school system personnel in the areas of:

ALABAMA'S SAFE SCHOOLS HOTLINE 1-888-SAV-KIDS (888-728-5437)

In late April of 1999, the State of Alabama implemented a statewide school safety hotline, 1-888-SAV-KIDS. This statewide hotline is operated by the Alabama Department of Public Safety's Missing and Exploited Children's Unit. By calling this toll-free hotline, Alabama's students, parents and concerned citizens may report their school safety related information and concerns on a anonymous basis 24-hours a day.

For Important Links, click on the Links button on the left.

School Safety
Contact: Tom Mock, tmock@alsde.edu, Jim Toney, jtoney@alsde.edu, Fran Stewart, fstewart@alsde.edu, Dr. Erika Butler, ebutler@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8165

The Prevention and Support Services section is also responsible for the implementation of the School Safety and Discipline sections of the Code of Alabama (1975), §§ 16-6B-5 through §16-6B-7 of the Alabama Accountability Act of 1995, that includes school safety and discipline as one of the three (3) areas of possible intervention by the State Superintendent of Education.

School Incident Report (SIR)
Contact:Jim Toney, jtoney@alsde.edu, Fran Stewart, fstewart@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8165

The Alabama School Incident Report (SIR) was developed in 1997 by a task force composed of local school and selected State Department of Education (SDE) personnel. This program provides the framework for all Alabama public schools and school systems to collect school safety and discipline information in a uniform manner.

The SIR program streamlines the collection of specified data and contributes to paperwork reduction. It also merged the Suspension/Expulsion Report and the Annual safety/discipline reporting needs of various entities within the SDE such as the Safe and Drug-Free Schools and Communities Program, Special Education Services and Prevention and Support Services.

Offenses to be tracked and reported to the SDE through this program are those that are violations of the law or represent a serious breach of local board of education policy. Included are those offenses considered severe enough to be reported to local law enforcement or which resulted in a student being suspended out of school, expelled or placed in an alternative program.

Attendance
Contact: Jim Toney, jtoney@alsde.edu, Fran Stewart, fstewart@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8165

The Prevention and Support Services Section has the administrative responsibility of the state attendance programs. This includes support to local education agencies and to the development of their attendance policies and procedures.

Alabama Student Assistance Plan (ASAP)
Contact: Children First,
State At-Risk Programs,
ASAP Budgets / Amendments,
Jim Toney, jtoney@alsde.edu, Fran Stewart, fstewart@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8165

The Alabama Student Assistance Plan (ASAP) is a consolidated state plan of the State-At-Risk and the Children First plans. The programs' funding criteria are very precise regarding the services they can provide. All three have the same philosophical basis: providing assistance for students at risk, keeping students safe and healthy, and preventing non-completion of school. Although the planning and funding sources have differences, the primary focus of each is to provide academic and behavioral services and opportunities for students who persistently perform below average. For additional information concerning the ASAP application contact Jim Toney as (334) 242-8165 or jtoney@alsde.edu

State Alternative Education Programs, Innovative Pathways, Johns Hopkins University Research Project
Contact: Dr. Kay Atchison-Warfield, Kaw@alsde.edu, Ayanna Long, along@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8165

Positive Behavior Support (PBS)
Contact: Greg DeJarnett, gregd@alsde.edu, Fran Stewart, fstewart@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8165

Safe and Drug Free Schools
Contact: Dr. Marilyn Lewis, mlewis@alsde.edu, or
Jim Toney, jtoney@alsde.edu, Fran Stewart, fstewart@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8165

The Safe and Drug Free Schools program is designed to support programs that prevent violence in and around schools; that prevent the illegal use of alcohol, tobacco and drugs; that involve parents and communities; and that are coordinated with related federal, state, school and community efforts and resources to foster a safe and drug-free learning environment that supports student academic achievement.

The Alabama School Health Services (ASHS)
Contact: Jennifer Ventress, jventress@alsde.edu
Janice Phelps, jphelps@alsde.edu
Lisa Tubbs, ltubbs@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8165

The Alabama School Health Services (ASHS) has the responsibilities of providing consultation on school health issues, establishing standards for school health services, and providing policy and best practices development for school health programs.

Guidelines for LEA Pandemic Prepared Response (Guidance) (Doc)

Comprehensive Guidance and Counseling Program
Contact: Kristen Dial, kdial@alsde.edu, Fran Stewart, fstewart@alsde.edu
Phone: (334) 242-8165

The Comprehensive Guidance and Counseling Program is now housed in the Prevention and Support Services (PSS) at the SDE. Training, technical assistance, and other support may be provided by the PSS staff to all system and school personnel which may include counselors.