Every Child a Graduate. Every Graduate Prepared.

ALSDE: Office of General Counsel



Section Hot Topics:  Alabama Administrative Code Document Center

Larry E. Craven, General Counsel - lcraven@alsde.edu

Juliana Teixeira Dean, Associate General Counsel - jdean@alsde.edu

Darnell D. Coley, Associate General Counsel - dcoley@alsde.edu

James R. Ward, III, Associate General Counsel - jward01@alsde.edu

Susan Tudor Crowther, Associate General Counsel - studor@alsde.edu

Michael Meyer, Associate General Counsel - mmeyer@alsde.edu

Reggie Davis, Investigator - rdavis@alsde.edu

Laila Mathis, Office Manager - lmathis@alsde.edu

Jane E. Allred, Docket Clerk – jallred@alsde.edu

Carell Trask, Docket Clerk - ctrask@alsde.edu

Tarell Trask, Administrative Assistant - ttrask@alsde.edu

The Office of General Counsel (OGC) provides legal counsel to the State Board of Education, the State Superintendent of Education, and the State Department of Education. The OGC reviews and provides suggestions on interpretation of statutory and case precedent. In addition to legal compliance review, the OGC handles all litigation involving the department, the State Board, and the State Superintendent. The attorneys within the office advise local Alabama school systems as needed when issues of potential statewide impact arise.

For more information, please contact the Office of General Counsel at: ogc2@alsde.edu